Home football 2023 Airtel Masaza cup final, date and venue revealed as The Kabaka...

2023 Airtel Masaza cup final, date and venue revealed as The Kabaka is yet to confirm his presence

From left to right Ssejjengo Suleiman, minister Salongo Sserwanga and Hon. Patrick Nsanja during a press conference(Photo/Joyce Namugambe)

Joyce Namugambe

Buganda Kingdom Minister for Youth, sports and talents Owek. Salongo Robert Sserwanga has revealed to the public that the final fixture for the this year’s Airtel Masaza cup tournament is scheduled to take place on Saturday 28th  October 2023 with Bulemeezi taking on record champions, Gomba at exactly 3PM, while Buddu and Mawokota will play first on the day in the 3rd  place playoff game.

 Owek. Salongo Sserwanga noted that the Kingdom is set for the finals that will be played at Muteesa II Stadium Wakulukuku.

 He urged that, people should wait for an official communication from the Kingdom for the tickets selling outlets to avoid being conned with fake tickets.

Owek. Sserwanga has also called upon the public to be very careful during the celebrations and celebrate responsibly especially while driving to avoid accidents that arise from the excitements before and after such events.

The kingdom is yet to communicate the chief guest who will grace the climax of this year’s tournament as His Majesty Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II is yet to wish for his appearance to his subjects.

According to Masaza Cup organising committee chairman Mr. Suleiman Ssejjengo gates will be open exactly at 8am and tickets will be available next week. For one get will be needed to have 20,000 shillings for ordinary and 30,000 shillings for VIP.

Sejjengo called upon all the 18 Counties team managers to mobilise their team’s supporters for final. He also urged football fans from all over the world to come in big numbers and witness the quality of football that will be displayed on Saturday October 28th at Wankulukuku because the teams in finals are well organised with talented players.

Bulemeezi eliminated three time champions, Mawokota in penalties 4-2 after all squared in both semi-final tie while Gomba defeated Buddu 3-1 on aggregate after the two semi-final legs

Bulemeezi will be seeking for their third title as the five time champions Gomba will be looking to extend their titles lead to six

Masaza Cup Previous Winners:

2022: Busiro

2021: Buddu
2020: Gomba
2019: Bulemeezi
2018: Singo
2017: Gomba
2016: Buddu
2015: Singo
2014: Gomba
2013: Mawokota
2012: Bulemeezi
2011: Bululi
2010: Not Held
2009: Gomba
2008: Kyadondo
2007: Mawokota
2006: Kooki
2005: Mawokota
2004: Gomba

Previous articleMusasizi disagrees with youth petition against merger of interest groups
Next articleJuventus player Nicolo Fagioli banned for seven months over betting