Home beachsoccer St. Lawrence University retains FUFA Beach Soccer League Title for the fifth...

St. Lawrence University retains FUFA Beach Soccer League Title for the fifth consecutive time


FUFA Beach Soccer League 2023/24

Championship Playoff


  • St. Lawrence BSC 4-3 Kampala City BSC

Third Place

  • Mutoola BSC 5-3 Buganda Royal BSC

Semi-final Playoff

  • Buganda Royal BSC 1-5 St. Lawrence BSC
  • Kampala City BSC 6-4 Mutoola BSC

St. Lawrence University Beach Soccer Club successfully reclaimed the FUFA Beach Soccer League title after defeating Kampala City in the playoff final held on Sunday June 30 as the 2023/2024 season climaxed.

The University side routed Kampala City 4-3 in a closely contested final played at FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru to win the title for the fifth successive year and their sixth in history.

Kampala City waited the second period to wake up from their slumber. Their talisman Paul Lule found the breakthrough for the Ivan Kulika coached side as he scored a brace to reduce the deficit but they allowed Lubwama to arrow in the fourth goal for St. Lawrence which proved to be the match winner.

The Ab’emikwano looked like they would plot a comeback when Ambrose Kigozi struck to put the scores at 4-3 during the second period but it was merely false hope. Despite raising the tempo of their game and putting St. Lawrence on the edge as the game progressed, the third period produced no goal to force Kampala City settle for the silver medals.

Brian Nkuubi steering away from his marker

To reach the final, St. Lawrence brushed aside Buganda Royal BSC , winning 5-1 thanks to goals from Brian Nkuubi who score a brace, Allan Katwe, Ronald Magwali and own goal by Twaif Lubwama. Buganda Royal got their consolation through Twosh Ntale.

In the other semifinal, Kampala City negotiated past Mutoola winning 6-4. Sharif Opuuli secured a hattrick and others came through Paul Kato, Ambrose Kigozi and Ashiraf Mugumira.

For Mutoola their goals came from Steven Nyalimo (Brace), Swaibu Kakwaya and Paul Nsenge

Kampala City won silver after finishing second

Mutoola won the bronze medals, after beating Buganda Royal 5-3 in the third place play-off whilst their star player Steven Nyalimo was named the competition’s most valuable player (MVP).

Mutoola finished third

Edward Kasibante of Buganda Royal scooped the best goalkeeper award as Makindye Ssabagabo Sand Lions were the fair play team.

Finally this time around, St. Lawrence’s coach Davis Ssozi Nono was selected the best coach of the season and Kampala City’s Paul Lule was the top scorer with 47 goals.

Season’s Best goalkeeper , Edward Kasibante (right) receiving his award from UBSA disciplinary committee member Timothy Ssenfuma
MVP Steven Nyalimo (right) receiving his award from chairman UBSA – Deo Mutabazi
Top scorer – Paul Lule (Kampala City) (right) receiving his award from FUFA delegate – Kavuma Hssan

Individual Awards

MVP – Steven Nyalimo (Mutoola)

Top scorer – Paul Lule (Kampala City)

Best goalkeeper – Edward Kasibante (Buganda Royal)

Best Coach – Davis Nono (St. Lawrence)

Fair Play Team – MS Sand Lions

The Winners of this prestigious competition are;

2009-2010 –  Club Tinka

2010-2011 – Braza Braza

2011-2012 – Kabalagala Rangers

2012-2013 – Mubs

2013-2014 – St. Lawrence university

2014-2015 – Kira Young

2015-2016 – Nkumba Select

2016-2017 – Mubs

2017-2018 –  Isabeti

2018-2019 – St. Lawrence university

2019-2020 – CANCELLED Due to COVID Pandemic

2021 – St. Lawrence university

2022 –  St. Lawrence university

2022-23 – St. Lawrence university

2023-24 – St. Lawrence university

Previous articlePolice reshuffle: Rusoke replaces Enanga as Police spokesperson
Next articleCAF launches (Digital) Interclub Magazine to record 2023/24 Journey