Home football Uganda Cranes learn opponents as CAF AFCON Morocco 2025 qualifying groups revealed

Uganda Cranes learn opponents as CAF AFCON Morocco 2025 qualifying groups revealed


The draw for the TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations, Morocco 2025,  qualifiers was held in Johannesburg today, Thursday July 4.

48 African countries will be aiming to qualify for the 35th edition of the biennial Africa showpiece in an attempt to dethrone coach Emerse Fae’s Cote d’Ivoire as continental kings

Fae – one of the two draw assistants together with Morocco legend Marouane Chamakh – saw his side placed in a tricky group as they bid to defend their title.

Uganda Cranes have been pitted in group K along with former champions, South Africa, Congo Brazzaville and neighbours South Sudan.

The qualifiers will start in September 2024 and end in November 2024. Uganda will kicks off with South Africa away before having two home games, against Congo and South Sudan in October, then playing away to South Sudan and hosting South Africa before visiting Congo in their last group encounter in November.

Uganda missed the last two editions of Africa Cup of Nations and the ultimate target will be to return to the coveted Championship next year before co-hosting the 2027 AFCON edition with Tanzania and Kenya.

Cote d’Ivoire are defending champions after defeating Nigeria 2-1 in the final of the continent’s flagship sports competition in Abidjan earlier this year.

The Elephants were placed in Group G where they will play former champions Zambia, Sierra Leone and Chad.

Hosts Morocco were placed in Group B.

The Atlas Lions will take on Gabon, Central African Republic and Lesotho.

Morocco will approach this qualifying campaign with less pressure since they are already assured of participating in the competition on home ground.

The much-coveted trophy will be put back into play  with the start of the qualifiers for the next CAF AFCON which will take place in the North African country.

The first and runners-up in the eleven (11) groups that do not involve tournament hosts Morocco, will gain qualification to the competition.

The CAF Africa Cup of Nations is the biggest sporting event in Africa and the next championship will be held from 21 December 2025 to 18 January 2026.

Bellow are the groups:

Group A: Tunisia, Madagascar, Comoros, Gambia
Group B: Morocco, Gabon,Central Africa Republic, Lesotho 
Group C: Egypt, Cape Verde, Mauritania, Botswana
Group D: Nigeria, Benin Libya, Rwanda 
Group E: Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Togo, Liberia
Group F: Ghana, Angola, Sudan, Niger
Group G: Cote d’Ivoire, Zambia, Sierra Leone, Chad
Group H: DR Congo, Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia
Group I: Mali, Mozambique, Guinea Bissau, Eswatini
Group J: Cameroon, Namibia, Kenya, Zimbabwe
Group K: South Africa, Uganda, Congo, South Sudan
Group L: Senegal, Burkina Faso, Malawi, Burundi

Previous articleREV. Ven Michael Chorey elected 5th Bishop of the Diocese of Karamoja
Next articlePresident Museveni rallies Gomba and Sembabule leaders to emphasize wealth creation among households